MotoGP - Noticias

MotoGP | #CatalanGP | Oliveira Triumphs at Cataluyna!

As the #CatalanGP got underway, the drama began even before the lights went out. It would be Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Miguel Oliveira who would dominate at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya with Pramac Racing’s Johann Zarco having to settle for 2nd, and Ducati Lenovo’s Jack Miller filling the final podium position.

( palabras)
MotoGP | #CatalanGP | Oliveira Triumphs at Cataluyna!
Fuente imagen:

The stage was set in Barcelona for the 7th round of the MotoGP World Championship, as Monster Energy Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo lined up on pole position, ahead of Ducati Lenovo’s Jack Miller and Pramac Racing’s Johann Zarco.

On his return from injury, Pramac Racing’s contender for Rookie of the Year, Jorge Martín’s race day started in disaster, as he crashed his Ducati on the sighting lap, meaning he would start the warm up lap from pitlane, and start the race from the back of the grid.

As the lights went out, Ducati Lenovo’s Miller launched his Desmosedici into the lead. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Miguel Oliveira slotted in behind Miller. Petronas Yamaha SRT’s Quartararo tried to recover positions, as the drag to the first corner left him swamped, before settling into his race pace.  The opening laps were action packed, with Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Brad Binder and Monster Energy Yamaha’s Maverick Viñales making contact, thankfully both riders got away with the incident unscathed.

After a dismal weekend, Repsol Honda’s woes continued, as Pol Espargaro crashed out on lap 5, and Marc Marquez out on lap 8. Fortunately, both riders walked away uninjured.

By lap 6, Oliveira had managed to stretch out a 1s lead over Quartararo and Team Suzuki ECSTAR’s Joan Mir. Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing’s Danilo Petrucci crashed out, as he comes under pressure to keep his seat.  Are we seeing the experienced Italian begin to crumble?

Quartararo began to close down Oliveira’s lead, as the metronomic KTM man continued his incredibly consistent lap times. LCR Honda IDEMITSU’s Takaaki Nakagami was handed a long lap penalty for gaining time across the shortcut at turns 1 and 2, however due to a non-compliance issue he was made to do a second long lap penalty.

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini’s Aleix Espargaro crashed out of his home grand prix, at turn 10, but thankfully the Spaniard walked away uninjured.

As Quartararo reined in Oliveira, the championship leader made the dive for the lead. He led for 2 laps, as Oliveira watched from 2nd, before retaking the lead and starting to build a gap. The battle for 3rd began to heat up as Mir, Zarco and Miller fought for the final podium position. Zarco managed to break away from the group and set about chasing down his fellow countryman in pursuit of 2nd.

Turn 10 claimed its third victim of the day, as Petronas Yamaha SRT’s Valentino Rossi crashed out on lap 17. The following lap Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing’s Iker Lecuona, who finds himself riding for his career, crashed out at turn 13.  Both riders walked away uninjured.

As the final 3 laps got underway, drama struck for Quartararo, as he ran across the shortcut at turn 1 and 2, costing him the chance to fight Zarco for 2nd. This misdemeanour warranted Quartararo a 3 second penalty which was added to his race time. On lap 22, Quartararo’s leathers appeared to burst open, exposing his chest and leaving him with no chest protector, which contravenes the rules set out by Dorna. The Monster Energy Yamaha man finished the #CatalanGP with his zip undone.   Many experts, riders and ex-riders believe he should have been black flagged for his own safety.

Oliveira held off Zarco to win his 3rd MotoGP race, as the Pramac Racing man had to settle for 2nd once again. Quartararo crossed the line 3rd, however due to his 3 second penalty, he would place 4th, meaning Miller inherited 3rd.

Top Rookie for the #CatalanGP was Esponsorama Racing’s Enea Bastianini, finishing 10th.







Miguel Oliveira

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing


Johann Zarco

Pramac Racing


Jack Miller

Ducati Lenovo Team


Fabio Quartararo

Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP


Joan Mir



Maverick Viñales

Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP


Francesco Bagnaia

Ducati Lenovo Team


Brad Binder

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing


Franco Morbidelli

Petronas Yamaha SRT


Enea Bastianini

Esponsorama Racing


Alex Marquez



Luca Marini

SKY VR46 Esponsorama Racing


Takaaki Nakagami



Jorge Martin

Pramac Racing


Lorenzo Savadori

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini








Iker Lecuona

Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing


Valentino Rossi

Petronas Yamaha SRT


Aleix Espargaro

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini


Marc Marquez

Repsol Honda Team


Danilo Petrucci

Tech 3 KTM Factory Racing


Pol Espargaro

Repsol Honda Team

Artículos relacionados


Subscribite ahora a nuestra lista de noticias diarias y te avisemos cada vez que una nota nueva salga.